Let’s Tear Apart My Resume

file000370626123

In one of my previous positions, I helped people with their resumes. Even now, friends and family send me their resumes to look over. Most of them struggle to think of “impressive” things to say. Well here I am to tell you that you are impressive. And just to show you, I’m going to tear apart my own resume. I’ll show you how it appears on my resume. Then, I’ll tear it down to its literal meaning and explain why I reworded things the way I did. Hopefully it inspires you to look back at your resume with a tech writer eye.

Summary

This small section of information is the first part of each of my resumes. The purpose is to give the reader some highlights about me and get them interested in reading more.

Verbatim

Since studying English in college, I have enjoyed writing engaging and approachable prose for all audiences. After exploring this passion in the worlds of publishing and tutoring, I transitioned the knowledge to IT technical writing. As a technical writer, I have not only authored documentation for technicians and management, but developed processes to create and restructure technical writing programs.

Literal Translation

I studied English and like to write. I did things before technical writing. Now I write things for people, fix how offices write things, and write about how I do it.

Intent

My degree is in English because I have a passion for writing. I have experience outside of technical writing that I bring to the table. I’ve written technical things for those who understand it and those who don’t. I know how to develop documents and can help offices better their document creation processes.

Sample Accomplishment

This accomplishment was a large-scale project I worked on. The purpose is to show a major accomplishment and give an idea of what I’m capable of.

Verbatim

Using an existing knowledge base, I developed a welcome packet that provided an introduction to DOL mobile device management (MDM). This 30-piece packet included a welcome letter, guidance for selecting and requesting a device, and various training SOPs. The goal was to provide guidance and education to external audiences.

Literal Translation

Using writing from other people, I created documents about a techy thing. There were a lot of documents. I wrote them for a lot of people.

Intent

I can write about technical things and work from existing material. I can handle large-scale projects. I can write towards different audiences.

Boring Duty

This is an example a low-level duty written to seem impressive. The purpose is to raise the significance of a duty that would typically be ignored while also showing some positive qualities.

Verbatim

I initiated the electronic organization of backlogged confidential physical files within the office. This included hundreds of personnel records spanning decades.

Literal Translation

I scanned a lot of old documents.

Intent

I’m computer savvy and organized. I can keep track of large amounts of information. I can be trusted with sensitive information.

Conclusion

With each of these examples, I could have written it in a number of ways. And I showed you how easy it is to make things seem unimpressive. But what I did was word things in a way that conveys what I want a reader to glean from each section. No lies. No exaggeration. Just some facts and fancy wording to tie it together. Now look back at your resume. What impressive feat are you hiding?

About the Author
Greta Boller is a technical writer located in the Washington, D.C. area. For more information, please visit .

Leave a Reply

